About Us


South Alabama Gas vehicles out in the field.

We’re founded on success.

Conecuh Monroe Counties Gas District (CMCGD), was created by Alabama Legislative Act No. 762 in May 1961, and was formed to serve the Alabama counties of Conecuh, Monroe and parts of Escambia County and this service extended to six cities: Castleberry, Evergreen, Excel, Frisco City, Monroeville, and Repton. As a result of the bond issuance in July of 1962, CMCGD was able to begin construction of Conecuh-Monroe Counties gas District's natural gas distribution system in August of 1962. Goodwin Engineers designed and inspected the construction of the system which was done by Patterson Wilder Contractors. During construction, Mr. Hoope was the chief inspector for Goodwin Engineers and in September of 1962, Edward L. Smith Sr. became the first general manager of the system and remained general manager until August 1990.

The first members of the Board of Directors were Jack Wild and Dr. Joe Haygood(Evergreen), Sam Williams and Ed Michaels (Monroeville). Castleberry, Excel, Frisco City and Repton had no Board member representation at the time of formation. It wasn't until 1990 that the Board was increased to include one alternating Board member from the four other member cities. This alternating board member serves a one-year term and this position rotates between Castleberry, Repton, Excel and Frisco City. Natural gas was introduced into the pipeline facilities to Castleberry from the Keego, Alabama Station in January of 1963, and in July of 1963 facilities were completed to Monroeville with supply being provided from United Gas Pipeline. At this time, Vanity Fair Mills was CMCGD's largest customer.